What is a Casein Allergy?

caseian free diet

Casein: Casein is a salt by product of calcium. It is thus, found in milk and a lot of other milk products. A lot of people are allergic to casein. Casein allergy is also known as gluten allergy. Casein is found in wheat, barley, rye etc in smaller quantities. Since a variety of foods are made from wheat, people who are allergic to gluten or casein, need to strike off a lot of these foods from their diet chart. This will help to eliminate the chances of a severe reaction.  It is also important to keep in mind that a few medicines also have casein in them.

Gluten: Gluten is present in some grains like rye, wheat, barley etc. Gluten is what makes the breads chewy or the pizzas crusty. The development of gluten decides whether the food texture will be chewy or crusty. In some foods such as Pizza, the dough is very sticky and it binds together well because of the presence of gluten, which creates many of gluten’s side effects.

Casein allergy or Gluten allergy: Casein allergy is also known as gluten allergy. People who are allergic to the protein called gluten are also prone to be allergic to other proteins of the same group, which are known as gliadins. The immune system of our body feels a threat from the proteins that are present in milk or gluten, and so they create some specific antibodies like IgA, IgG and IgE. This is done in order to protect the body. This act provokes an inflammatory reaction in a few days or a few months. However, it should be noted that this type of allergy is not the same as lactose intolerance.

Symptoms: Symptoms of this kind of allergy might be itchiness on skin, rashes, swelling, and hives. Some people also have symptoms like hyperactivity, breathlessness, diarrhea, bloating, fatigue, and a pale complexion. Others may find that they begin to lose weight and experience nausea or vomiting.

Threats: People who are hypersensitive to casein or gluten may suffer from the Coeliac disease. People who are allergic to casein or gluten are also prone to catch colds and infections faster. It may also cause increased secretion of mucous in certain individuals.

Casein free diet: If you are diagnosed to be allergic to casein, it is that you maintain a casein free diet or a CF diet. Below are a list of foods that do not have casein in them:

Rice
Some Soya products
Potato milk
Egg (A lot of people have a misconception of egg being a dairy product. Egg is actually an animal by product)

However, it is very difficult to find casein free food or gluten free food. A person allergic to casein and gluten must take extra care to choose his food. They should make sure that if they are buying certain foods, that they check the ingredients list in order to help them identify whether a product contains casein.

Casein: Casein is a salt by product of calcium. It is thus, found in milk and a lot of other milk products. A lot of people are allergic to casein. Casein allergy is also known as gluten allergy. Casein is found in wheat, barley, rye etc in smaller quantities. Since a variety of foods are made from wheat, people who are allergic to gluten or casein, need to strike off a lot of these foods from their diet chart. This will help to eliminate the chances of a severe reaction.  It is also important to keep in mind that a few medicines also have casein in them.

Gluten: Gluten is present in some grains like rye, wheat, barley etc. Gluten is what makes the breads chewy or the pizzas crusty. The development of gluten decides whether the food texture will be chewy or crusty. In some foods such as Pizza, the dough is very sticky and it binds together well because of the presence of gluten.

Casein allergy or Gluten allergy: Casein allergy is also known as gluten allergy. People who are allergic to the protein called gluten are also prone to be allergic to other proteins of the same group, which are known as gliadins. The immune system of our body feels a threat from the proteins that are present in milk or gluten, and so they create some specific antibodies like IgA, IgG and IgE. This is done in order to protect the body. This act provokes an inflammatory reaction in a few days or a few months. However, it should be noted that this type of allergy is not the same as lactose intolerance.

Symptoms: Symptoms of this kind of allergy might be itchiness on skin, rashes, swelling, and hives. Some people also have symptoms like hyperactivity, breathlessness, diarrhea, bloating, fatigue, and a pale complexion. Others may find that they begin to lose weight and experience nausea or vomiting.

Threats: People who are hypersensitive to casein or gluten may suffer from the Coeliac disease. People who are allergic to casein or gluten are also prone to catch colds and infections faster. It may also cause increased secretion of mucous in certain individuals.

Casein free diet: If you are diagnosed to be allergic to casein, it is that you maintain a casein free diet or a CF diet. Below are a list of foods that do not have casein in them:

§ Rice

§ Some Soya products

§ Potato milk

§ Egg (A lot of people have a misconception of egg being a dairy product. Egg is actually an animal by product)

However, it is very difficult to find casein free food or gluten free food. A person allergic to casein and gluten must take extra care to choose his food. They should make sure that if they are buying certain foods, that they check the ingredients list in order to help them identify whether a product contains casein.


Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*

*

*